Journalism Student at Northwestern University

Kids Win Day with the Animals

Yesterday I began an internship at South Jersey’s Courier-Post. My official title is “New Media Intern,” but I will be primarily shooting for the photo desk. I also look forward to doing some written, video and web reporting during my time there this summer.

For my first assignment, I went with Chief Photographer Douglas Bovitt to Downing Elementary School in Runnemede, NJ, where we had heard a principal would be kissing a pig to reward her 170 students for raising more than $1000 through the Box Tops for Education program.

We got there, and saw that they had also brought out a petting zoo and were spraying the school nurse with silly string. (See picture #8 – it ran on the front page of the print edition today.) The kids were adorable and the teachers lovely. I had a great time shooting this one.

Leave a Reply

