Journalism Student at Northwestern University

Football: Northwestern vs. Minnesota

Shooting this game was a learning experience. The clouds were thick, the light was gray and there was a nonstop drizzle that developed at points into a downpour. Navigating the challenges of keeping all three cameras dry, running around on the mushy turf (my knees and hips were killing me by the third quarter) and shooting in the dim stadium proved to be a challenge. The biggest mistake I made all game was trusting shutter speeds of 500 and 640, which still produced some serious motion blur problems (as you can see in several of even my best images) that I didn’t pick out on the back-of-camera preview. I still haven’t figured out the best way to produce high-contrast images in-camera in the fog.

Regardless, it was a great time and a fun trip. I won’t make the same mistakes next time. Images shot for The Daily Northwestern.

Leave a Reply

